Happy Kwanzaa!

Kwanzaa is a seven-day celebration of community, family, African American culture, and African heritage.

Held between December 26 and January 1 each year, each day is dedicated to by a core principle that emphasizes shared values:

  1. Umoja (Unity)
  2. Kujichagulia (Self-Determination)
  3. Ujima (Collective Work and Responsibility)
  4. Ujamaa (Cooperative economics)
  5. Nia (Purpose)
  6. Kuumba (Creativity)
  7. Imani (Faith)

In this video, Javonda Adams signs the Seven Principles of Kwanzaa and shares what each of these principles mean.

Take a look at ASDC’s ASL Resources for Kwanzaa to learn more about this wonderful celebration!


Signed by Javonda Adams

Produced by Kwanzaa Charlotte

Visit ASDC’s YouTube channel and ASL Stories Directory 

for more ASL Learning Videos!

All copyrighted materials is held by the original owners. Images in this video are derived from Google Images, and compliant with the Copyright and Fair Use Act under non-profit, educational materials. This video abides the educational fair use guidelines.